

#RideWithUs

Our Proud Olympic History

Beijing 2008

Eventing

Clayton Fredericks Lucinda Fredericks Megan Jones Shane Rose Sonja Johnson **Jumping** Edwina Alexander Matthew Williams Laurie Lever Peter McMahon **Dressage** Hayley Beresford Kristy Oatley Heath Ryan

FOLLOW US



The silver medal Eventing team L-R – Shane Rose, Sonja Johnson, Megan Jones, Lucinda Fredericks, Clayton Fredericks. Photo – Franz Venhaus

Equestrian events at the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games were staged in Hong Kong because of quarantine restrictions. For the first time Australia qualified riders for the team's events of all three Olympic disciplines. The Beijing Games were also significant particularly for our Eventing Team because it was the first time since Australia first fielded an Eventing team at the 1956 Games that every member of the team was an Olympic debutant. The team of Clayton Fredericks (Ben Along Time), Lucinda Fredericks (Headley Britannia), Megan Jones (Irish Jester), Shane Rose (All Luck) and Sonja Johnson (Ringwould Jaguar) overcame the hot and humid conditions to bring home the silver medal for Australia. The team led the field after the Dressage phase and slipped into second position after Cross Country despite Shane and All Luck recording the fastest time around the grueling course. In a thrilling finish Australia was forced to concede victory to the German team by just over 5 penaltly points. In the battle for individual medals Megan Jones needed a clear round to secure the silver medal. Four very expensive faults at the last fence ultimately cost her a place on the podium.

The Jumping team of Edwina Alexander (Itot du Chateau), Matt Williams (Leconte 6), Laurie Lever (Ashleigh Drossel Da) and Peter McMahon (Kolora Genoa) were in contention for a team's bronze medal right up until the final rider and ultimately ended the competition in seventh. In the individual competition Edwina was the highest placed Australian ending in equal 10th place. The Dressage team of Hayley Beresford (Relampago Do Retiro), Kristy Oatley (Quando-Quando) and Heath Ryan (Greeoaks Dunde) originally finished the event in eighth position but moved into seventh after the US team was later disqualified. Oatley and Befesford both qualified for the Grand Prix Special and finished in the top 20