NEWS > Eventing
Posted by Kirsty Pasto on 13/05/2022.

Australian Teams Announced for 2022 Oceania Championships

Equestrian Australia (EA) is pleased to announce the selected combinations for the 2022 Oceania Championships, to be held in Victoria at the Melbourne International 3 Day Event from 9th – 13th June, 2022. 

Australia will field three teams: two Senior teams and one Young Rider team. 

The Oceania Championships are an important component of the EA High Performance Program, giving athletes the opportunity to gain Championship-level experience in the Southern Hemisphere as part of a representative team. 

This is consistent with the EA High Performance Program's strategy for developing emerging combinations, and for the majority of the Young Riders selected in 2022, this will be their first appearance on an Australian squad.

Prior to the Championships, all team and reserve combinations will attend a staging camp in Victoria that will focus on team culture and competition preparation. The composition of the two Senior teams will also be finalised during this camp. 

EA High Performance Director, Chris Webb, congratulated the combinations selected for the biennial competition against New Zealand.

“Congratulations to all of the selected combinations who have been named to the Australian squads,” Mr. Webb said. “The Oceania Championships are an integral part of the EA High Performance Program’s Pathway, which supports athletes aspiring to represent Australia. Many of Australia's most successful equestrian competitors made their debut at an Oceania Championship and we remain committed to continuing the development of Australian combinations.” 

Congratulations to the selected combinations and their connections.

Oceania Championships Senior Teams

  • Annabel Cargill & Quaprice, owned by Annabel Cargill & Hamish Cargill, Alison Lalak and Paul Cargill
  • Emma Mason & Warrego Marco Polo, owned by Marco Polo Syndicate
  • Jessica Rae & Fifth Avenue, owned by Jessica Rae
  • Lauren Browne & Skys da Limit, owned by Lauren Browne
  • Samuel Jeffree & Woodmount Lolita, owned by Fiona Mitchell
  • Sam Lyle & BF Valour, owned by Charlotte Mavris
  • Shenae Lowings & Bold Venture, owned by Shenae Lowings
  • Shane Rose & Easy Turn, owned by Angela Shacklady and Shane & Niki Rose 

The Australian Senior Team chef d'equipe is Will Enzinger

Reserve combinations

  • Andrew Cooper & Hey Arnold, owned by Madeline & Darren Wilson
  • Gemma Tinney & Diabolo, owned by Tim Game & Karen Tinney
  • Matthew Gaske & Bellhaven Cumbria, owned by Jason Johnstone
  • Sarah Clark & LV Balou Jeanz, owned by Sarah Clark

Oceania Championships Young Rider Team

  • Edward Darby & Dawn of the Day, owned by Julia Gibson
  • Georgia Tivendale & Star Allure, owned by Georgia Tivendale
  • Oliver Barrett & Sandhills Special, owned by Prue Barrett
  • Riley Lyall & GI War Machine, owned by Riley Lyall

The Australian Young Rider Team chef d'equipe is Andrew Barnett

Reserve combinations

  • Amilia Schooley & Grande Exito, owned by Amilia Schooley
  • Ella Smith & Jaybee Altimate, owned by Ella Smith

For further information about the Zeep. Melbourne International 3 Day event click HERE

Other Top News