NEWS > General
Posted by Kirsty Pasto on 05/04/2019.

Oceania Championships 2019 Australian Teams Announced

Equestrian Australia is pleased to announce the final teams for the 2019 Oceania Championships, to be held in Taupo, New Zealand from 10-12th May 2019.

This will be the first time that three Australian teams will be competing in the challenge, the largest contingent of Australian athletes to attend the biennial event to date.

The Oceania Championships represent a critical component of the High-Performance programs preparation for the Tokyo Olympic Games 2020, providing a unique opportunity for athletes to experience the new Olympic format.

Following the training camp the selectors will confirm which of the combinations will form each team of four (4), including the specification of those that will participate as the three (3) team combinations and one (1) individual combination.

For most of the Young Riders this marks their first time on a team, giving them an opportunity to gain invaluable Championship experience. This is in alignment with EA’s High-Performance focus and long-term plan for the development of emerging combinations.

A staging camp will take place in NSW for all team and reserve combinations prior to the Championships. The camp will focus on team culture; competition preparation, and will also give riders the opportunity to train with team coaches Nelson Pessoa, Sam Lyle and Will Enzinger.

 “Congratulations to all of the selected combinations for the Oceania Championships 2019. The Championships are an important element of our strategy leading into Tokyo 2020 to ensure our athletes are best placed to succeed at the Games.

We look forward to a productive staging camp prior to departure for New Zealand, and what I am sure will be a competitive Championships in Taupo,” said High-Performance Sports Director, Chris Webb.

Congratulations to the below combinations, and their connections.

Oceania Championships Senior Teams

  • Amanda Ross & Dicavalli Diesel; with Koko Popping Candy and Dondiablo (reserves)
  • Emma Bishop & CP Issey Miyake
  • Emma Mason & Warrego Marco Polo
  • Jade Findlay & Oaks Cordelia
  • Jessica Rae & Rascal
  • Madeline Wilson & I’m Bruce
  • Shane Rose & Ultimate Velocity
  • Sonja Johnson & Misty Isle Valentino


  • Annabel Armstrong & Quaprice
  • Callum Buczak & Matavia Cheval
  • Gemma Tinney & Annapurna
  • Hamish Cargill & Legolas KPH

Oceania Championships Young Rider Team

  • Tayah Andrew & Silver Force
  • Jordyn Faint & Double S & Evergreen Jackpot
  • Isabelle McLachlan & Ventura
  • Stephanie Hann & True Celebre


  • Hannah Klep & Reprieve

* reserve combinations and reserve horses will be substituted at the sole discretion of the selectors. 


Other Top News