NEWS > General
Posted by Equestrian Australia on 05/06/2015.

Equestrian Australia is proud to announce the winners of its annual Sport Achievement Awards

Equestrian greats end enthusiasts joined award finalists, their families and friends as well a host of industry members at Showtime in Melbourne this evening to recognise the sport’s highest achievers of the past 12 months. Nicole Livingstone, Australian former competitive swimmer, Olympic silver medallist and television & radio sports commentator was presenting the ceremony.

Equestrian Australia was pleased and honoured to host FEI President Ingmar De Vos as a special guest of this year’s Sport Achievement Awards Night.

Among those to receive an award was the two time World Champion Driver Boyd Exell who was the recipient of the 2014 Ariat International Athlete of the Year award. It is a fitting result for Exell as he brought home the gold medal at the FEI World Equestrian Games 2014 in Normandy making it back to back wins for his team. He is a multiple winner of this award having taken home the honours in 2013 and 2010. Exell’s Four in Hand team of horses – Winston, Curios, Spitfire, Rambo & Capone who led Exell to victory took out the IRT International Horse of the Year award.

A highlight of the evening was the EA Hall of Fame presentation which paid tribute to legends of the sport. For the second time, this year’s recipients were chosen by living Hall of Fame members.

Congratulations to each of the 2014 Sport Achievement Awards Night recipients and Hall of Fame inductees:

Administrator of the Year – Toni Venhaus

IRT International Horse of the Year – Boyd Exell’s four in hand team of Winston, Curios, Spitfire, Rambo & Capone

Domestic Horse of the Year – RR Dyranta

KER Owner of the Year – Cheryl Hatswell

Gow Gates Club of the Year – Thoroughbred Riding Club

Gow Gates Coach of the Year – Rebecca Jenkins

Gow Gates Volunteer of the Year – Claire Walker

Gow Gates Official of the Year – Polyann Huntington

AIS Event of the Year – Australian Show Jumping Championships

Barastoc Young Athlete of the Year – Isabel English

Ariat International Athlete of the Year – Boyd Exell

Ariat Domestic Athlete of the Year – Shane Rose

More about the winners 

Hall of Fame Inductees

Individual Achievement Category: Neale Lavis

Service to Sport Category: Colin Kelly

Outstanding Horse Category: Darien Powers

Team’s category: 1992 Barcelona Olympic Games Eventing Team

View the Facebook Photo Album 

Other Top News