NEWS > General
Posted by Equestrian Australia on 28/04/2015.

1992 Eventing Team inducted into EA Hall of Fame

Equestrian Australia is pleased to announce that the 1992 Barcelona Olympic Games Eventing Team of Matthew Ryan, Andrew Hoy, Gillian Rolton and David Green will be inducted into the EA Hall of Fame in the team's category.

Inductees will be celebrated at the annual Sport Achievement Awards night on Friday 5 June in Melbourne. 

Congratulations to the 1992 Eventing Team:

The Australian Eventing team won team gold in the three day equestrian event at the Barcelona Olympic Games in 1992 having overcome a series of setbacks. The team was made up of Andrew Hoy on Kiwi, Matthew Ryan on Kibah Tic Toc, David Green on Duncan, Gillian Rolton on Peppermint Grove and coached by Wayne Roycroft.

Leading into the competition the team was already depleted by injury and illness and was reduced to the minimum three members when David Green's horse Duncan was ruled unfit after the second day.

The surviving trio, Matthew Ryan, Andrew Hoy and Gillian Rolton were placed second entering the show jumping phase behind the New Zealand team who had a strong lead. After a disastrous round by one of the New Zealand riders it all came down to Matthew Ryan and Kibah Tic Toc to secure the Gold medal for the team.

Despite the pressure the pair cleared all but the last fence to claim victory for the Australians. Ryan also took home the individual Gold medal and Rolton became the first Australian female to win a medal at an Olympic Games in equestrian.

Now in its fourth year, the Equestrian Australia Hall of Fame pays tribute to the heroes of equestrian sport. For tickets to the EA Sport Achievement Awards please click here

Other Top News