NEWS > Dressage
Posted by Equestrian Australia on 15/02/2013.

Mary Seefried announced as new Chairperson of ADC

At a recent meeting of the Australian Dressage Committee (ADC) interim Chair Mary Seefried was confirmed as the Committee's Chairperson for the forthcoming 12 month period.

Mary takes over from former Chair Lesley Sullivan who was a member of the Committee for six years, acting as its Chair for the duration. Under the current conditions Lesley must have a 12 month break before being eligible to re-nominate.

Mary is a highly respected member of the dressage community both in Australia and internationally. Mary has been a national dressage judge for 30 years and has served as an FEI5* dressage judge for 15 years. A former Chairperson of Equestrian Queensland and Equestrian Australia, Mary is a dedicated servant of equestrian sport. She has served as a national dressage selector and on numerous state and national Committees and up until this recent appointment was the Chair of the Australian Dressage Judges Committee (ADJC). Mary has vacated this role to take up a position on the ADC.

Mary is joined on the Committee by Liz Owens (riders rep), Susie Cunningham, Caroline Coleby, Wendy Barker and Kerry Mack.

“This Committee has a great range of experience and most importantly, understanding of issues related to sport of dressage and also para dressage.  I am looking forward to bringing my national and international experience to the table and, with the Committee, working towards taking the sport to its next level.  We need to broaden the base of the sport in order to provide a springboard for our top competitors, "  Mary said.  

“It is the beginning of the 4 year cycle to Rio and this year will be one for consolidation of the updated programs whilst at the same time being keenly aware to promote the continuing attractiveness of the sport for the general membership,” Mary added.  

Virginia Creed, an FEI 4* dressage judge will take over as Chairperson of the Australian Dressage Judges Committee (ADJC) and will serve in this position for 12 months.

Other Top News