NEWS > Jumping
Posted by Equestrian Australia on 11/02/2013.

Raymont Shines Brightly in Christchurch

Billy Raymont and Stardom

Winners of the 19th Annual NZ National Jumping and Showhunter Championships

Australian Billy Raymont has finally got his name on the prestigious Rutherford Cup for the NZ Senior Horse Champion, after downing a smart field at the NZ National Show Jumping Championships in Christchurch today.

Raymont and Stardom came into the final day of competition in second, less than a fault behind fellow Australian Alison Rowland on her starry mare Bickley Brook Bella. 

Visiting Australian course designers John Vallance’s big challenging track caused problems in the first round, with just Raymont on Stardom and leading Kiwi hope Maurice Beatson on the everygreen, My Gollywog, posting the only clear rounds.

Just 10 started the second round over a very big track, up there with any of the top shows across the Tasman, with two rails separating the top four riders which made for an intense competition. Fourth to last to go, in form Aussie Jamie Kermond on his super grey mare Colthaga posted a smart clear, ensuring his position. Beatson was next out and had an unlucky rail to seal third. After having one rail down in the first round Rowland made no mistakes in the second, producing a lovely clear, leaving it all down to Raymont. Raymont couldn’t afford a mistake, needing a clear round to take the win, and despite a few hairy moments his New Zealand-bred thoroughbred Stardom responded, jumping clear to win the Canterbury Community Trust NZ Senior Horse Championship in front of an appreciative large crowd.

For Raymont, the win righted the wrongs of two years ago when he won the title aboard Nicalette NZPH, but was denied the win because the rules stated it had to be won by a New Zealander. At the time, he wasn’t too concerned, but it was great to get a second shot at it.

“I would have felt much better if Alison (Rowland) had taken a rail in the second round. I don’t get that nervous, but I will admit to having a bug in my stomach before I went out,” says Raymont.

Although the Australian National title still eludes him, Raymont says winning here in New Zealand was something he’d dreamed of. “Just to do it once in your life is a huge thrill. It’s unbelievable.” 

While Kermond came up just short in the senior championship, he overcame a star-studded field to win the Fiber Fresh Feeds NZ One Star Championship with Laughton’s Legacy. Sitting in third place coming into today’s competition, Kermond moved up the order with an immaculate jumping performance to take the honours ahead of McVean (Mystery Creek) on Dunstan Springfield, and Australian young rider James Arkins on Dreamtime Invader. Overnight leader Logan Massie had the advantage right until the final round, but 12 faults ended his chances.

Earlier in the day Christchurch teen Steffi Whittaker put in an impressive performance to score a career best win in The Press sponsored NZ Open Pony Grand Prix Championship aboard Moonlight Glow, taking just the one rail over three days of intense competition.

Today’s competition brought the curtain down on four days of wonderful jumping, giving the people of Canterbury the opportunity to witness some of the best horses in Australasia competing on their doorstep.


The Canterbury Community Trust NZ Senior Horse Championship: Billy Raymont (Australia) Stardom 1, Alison Rowland (Australia) Bickley Brook Bella 2, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) My Gollywog 3, Jamie Kermond (Australia) Colthaga 4, Rory Hovell (Australia) Yalambi’s Val D’Isere 5, Katie McVean (Mystery Creek) Dunstan Daffodil 6.

Fiber Fresh Feeds NZ One Star Horse Championship: Jamie Kermond (Australia) Yandoo’s Laughton Legend 1, Katie McVean (Mystery Creek) Dunstan Springfield 2, James Arkins (Australia) Dreamtime Invader 3, Mathew Gilmour (Auckland) Belize Di Cantero 4, Jack Maunder (Australia) Cyra 5, Billy Raymont (Australia) Watermark Farm Ducatti 6.

130cm Horse June Cresswell Memorial: Katie McVean (Mystery) Dunstan Zehrenland 1, Melody Matheson (Hastings) Cheltenham 2, Rory Hovell (Australia) Yalambi’s Carpino Z 3, Brad Cunningham (Christchurch) Kiwi Crusher 4, Natasha Brooks (Cambridge) Kapattack 5, Devon Van Til (Rangiora) Akubra 6.

The Press NZ Open Pony Championship: Steffi Whittaker (Halswell) Moonlight Glow 1, Emily Fraser (Takapau) Tony The Pony 2, Emily Fraser (Takapau) Tiger Tale LS 3, Melanie Weal (Te Awamutu) Hopeful Illusion 4, Kimberley Bird (Rakaia) Brenwood Stevie James 5, Grace Percy (Australia) Madam Masala 6.

Lysaght Horses Coaches of Canterbury NZ 120cm Horse Championship: Lisa Hogg (Whakatane) Branson MVNZ 1, Amanda Roy (Clinton) Rumours NZPH 2, Kate Taylor (Kurow) Next 3, Georgie Siciliano (Australia) Yalambi’s Soltarella 4, Natasha Brooks (Cambridge) Uranda 5, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Parker 6.

Christchurch City Council NZ Pony 110cm Championship: Jamiee Bird (Rakaia) Bucc A Boo 1, Jamiee Bird (Rakaia) Showtym Image 2, Becky Harkerss (Leeston) Brooklee Monopoly 3, Molly Buist-Brown (Templeton) Pull The Trigger II 4, Steffi Whittaker (Halswell) Bexley Lodge Tinkerbella 5, Melanie Weal (Te Awamutu) Henton Constantine 6.

Equine Trader NZ 110cm Horse Championship: Kathryn Manson Ginseng 1, Rebecca Kerr (Outram) Tiraumea Curious George 2, Lisa Milliken (Queenstown) Piccolo Matteo 3, Jackie Wear () Guscott 4, Candace Bell (Ashburton) Miss Serendipity II 5, Emma Pilcher Snazzy Az 6.

Tru Test in association with Mitavite South Island NZ Young Rider Championship: Katie Meredith (Ohoka) Rio Madrid 1, James Arkins (Australia) Dreamtime Invader 2, Kirsty Ansell (Australia) Balou 3, Natasha Brooks (Cambridge) Hairy McLairy 4, Melody Matheson (Hastings) Cheltenham 5, Sarah Beale (Australia) Alpha Centuri 6.

Commercial Contract Services in association with KiwiSpan Junior Rider Championship: Maddison Thompson (Darfield) King John 1, Melanie Weal (Te Awamutu) Cross Your Heart 2, Rose Alfeld (Weedons) Capprera 3, Olivia Robertson (Ohoka) Tiki Taane 4, Georgie Sciciliano (Perth, Western Australia) Yalambi’s Soltarella 5, Emily Fraser (Takapau) Kiwi Relic 6.

Andretti NZ Seven-Year-Old Breeding Championship: Katie McVean (Mystery Creek) Dunstan Breeze 1, Kate Taylor (Kurow) Next 2, Samantha McIntosh (Cambridge) Supernova NZPH 3, Katie McVean (Mystery Creek) Dunstan Banderos C 4, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Lenarc 5, Natasha Brooks (Cambridge) Kapattack 6.

Taylor Coal in association with Caledonian Amateur Rider: Jacquita Farquhar (Outram) Rustic Moonlight 1, Jenna Walls (West Melton) Baltimore 2, Kate Taylor (Kurow) Next 3, Jacquie Crutchley (Christchurch) Hot Chocolate II 4, Amanda Brown (Rangiora) Glenmark 5, Kirsty Sharapoff (West Melton) Shoot The Breeze 6.

Prydes Easifeed in association with Fernhill Five Year Old Championship: Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Mandalay Cove 1, Chris Harris (Alyesbury) Zilco Glenbrook Archie Bunker 2.

Betavet in association with Mitavite Six Year Old Breeding Championship: Brad Cunningham (Christchurch) Kiwi Crusher 1, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Victoria’s Secret 2, Amanda Brown (Rangiora) Glenmark 3, Katie McVean (Mystery Creek) Dunstan Lucca 4, Angus Taylor (Ohoka) Ngahiwi Wirey 5.

Other Top News