NEWS > Jumping
Posted by Equestrian Australia on 28/04/2016.

Rio 2016 Identified Combinations

Equestrian Australia’s (EA) Jumping Selection Panel (JSP) is pleased to announce the identified combinations that will be considered for selection to the Australian Jumping Team for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games. 

It follows today’s announcement by the Australian Olympic Committee (AOC) that Team Captain, Edwina Tops-Alexander and Olympian, Scott Keach have earned early selection to the Australian Olympic Team for Rio. Read the AOC Announcement

Congratulations to the following combinations which have been named as identified combinations:

Chris Chugg and Cera Cassiago

Steven Hill and Yalambi’s Bellini Star

Jamie Kermond and Yandoo Oaks Constellation

Phillip Lever and Comme Il Faut

James Paterson-Robinson and Amarillo

Matthew Williams and Valinski S

Australia’s Jumping Team in Rio will consist of four horse and rider combinations. In making their final two nominations to the AOC, the JSP will consider performances and placings at three nominated European Nations Cups shows, but results will not automatically position one combination above another in terms of nomination. Refer to the selection policy for full details

The identified combinations have been nominated in accordance with Equestrian Australia’s Jumping Nomination Criteria and were available to contest the upcoming Nations Cup events.

The three nominated events which identified combinations will attend, are: 

  • Linz (AUT) CSIO,  5-8 May 2016
  • Odense (DEN)  CSIO, 19-22 May 2016 
  • Sopot (POL) CSIO, 10-12 June 2016 

Updated 6 May 2016 

Merrick Ubank and Alantinus come into team to replace Phillip Lever and Comme Il Faut who are not available for this event. 

The Australian Team for the Linz Nations Cup Event will be as follows:

Chris Chugg and Cera Cassiago

Steven Hill and Yalambi’s Bellini Star

Merrick Ubank and Alantinus

James Paterson-Robinson and Amarillo

The team will be supported by Chef d’Equipe Stevie Macken.


Other Top News