Pandora Bangle Charms ebuypandora
Staff Profile - Alison

Each month we introduce you to a member of the EA team. It's fun, a little bit serious and maybe more interesting than you’d expect...

 

Introducing Equestrian Australia team member

Alison Kallinis

Reception/Bookkeeper

What does your role at EA entail?

Taking calls and enquires from our EA members and community, assisting with horse passport registrations and in the accounting department for bookkeeping.

What’s the problem you most commonly solve in your role?

National and FEI horse passport emergencies!

If you could pick a superpower, what would you choose?

To be able to fly.

What’s your favourite horse breed and horse colour?

My favourite breed would be a Clydesdale, my favourite colour is grey.

What’s your favourite equestrian discipline?

Jumping.

What’s the coolest thing about your job?

The people and the obvious passion for their animals and their sport.

What is your equestrian background?

I got 'Whiskey' when I was 8 years old, he was a black and white pony.  He was so calm that I used to walk up the paddock with a hand full of grain and just get on him without bridle or saddle and he would head to the shed to be saddled.  We did a couple of pony camps, but when a horse bit him on the rump and he kicked it, we got a red ribbon on our tail ...end of pony camp. 

I used to ride him over to my friends home about 20 km away and stay overnight and then come back.  I also used him to help train a very naughty Shetland pony our neighbours bought, called 'Sasha'.  She used to roll on the girls when they got on her and was very stubborn and wouldn’t move!

I went away to boarding school at 13, so he did not get ridden much after that. Mum found a lovely family for him to go to on the coast. I believe they trained him to pull a small cart.  

If you were an animal, what would you be and why?

I'd be a bird because my superpower is going to be to fly...

What is the nerdiest thing you do in your free time?

Watch old episodes of “Ppicks and Specks, Rock Wiz and Grand Designs”.

STATE BRANCHES