Pandora Bangle Charms ebuypandora
Staff Profile - Kellie Hayes

Each month we introduce you to a member of the EA team. It's fun, a little bit serious and maybe more interesting than you’d expect...


Introducing Equestrian Australia team member

Kellie Hayes

Pathways Officer – Coaching 



What does your role entail?

At the moment I am supporting the National Coaching Committee to complete a syllabus review and working with the other EA Pathways Officers (athletes and officials) and the GM Sport Operations on integrating the pathways to support the entire EA membership.

What’s the problem you most commonly solve in your role?

There are many and they are so varied. No two questions are the same! 

If you could pick a superpower, what would you choose?

I think I would choose to fly. I like seeing the whole picture and what better way to do it – getting out of the mess and flying above it all.

What’s your favourite horse breed and horse colour?

It’s not a very ‘equestrian sport’ answer, but I love brumbies. My cousin rehomes brumbies from the state forest in Northern NSW so I have a huge soft spot for them. We have nine (at the moment – I am sure this number will grow!) They are intelligent, calm, kind and incredibly gentle with my daughters (6 and 8-years-old).

I have a beautiful grey gelding, but I also love my buckskin mare with her light blue eyes.

What’s your favourite equestrian discipline?

I am in awe of all the amazing horses and athletes across all disciplines. Equestrian is a high-risk sport and the bravery of the athletes and the trust that they build with their horses is phenomenal – they truly become one.

What’s the coolest thing about your job?

That I am able to combine my years of sports administration experience with my love of horses.

What is your equestrian background?

I do not have an equestrian background but that doesn't mean I don't have a love of horses. I have grown up with horses, I could ride before I could walk.

I learnt to ride on my great grandfathers stock x draught horse. Her name was Dolly and she was HUGE (especially to a little kid). She lived to be the ripe old age of 45. I still use my great grandfathers stock saddle when I am out and about trail riding – it was passed down from my great grandfather to my grandfather to me.

I now have nine brumbies, ranging from 11 months to 12-years-old and I am sharing my love of horses with my two growing daughters. Maybe one of them will become an equestrian?

If you were an animal, what would you be and why?

That’s a tough one. Would I be domesticated or wild? Large or small? Predator or prey? I think I might stick with the superpower theme from above and say an Eagle. They can fly and soar through the air. I think that would be pretty cool.

What is the nerdiest thing you do in your free time?

I really don’t have much free time but I do enjoy reading a good book.